Rudraksha Seed Beads

Rudraksha Seed Beads

Rudraksha Seed Beads

Rudraksha Beads Information - Items Below

Rudraksha seeds come from a large evergreen broad leaved tree, which grow in many areas from Nepal, the foothills of the Himalayas, South East Asia, Indonesia, New Guinea to Australia, Guam, and Hawaii. 

The seed is traditionally used for prayer beads in Hinduism, but the beads are also used by many other peoples. Rudrakshas are also used for treatment of various diseases in traditional Indian medicine.

Common beads have five natural divisions and these are considered to be symbolic of the five faces of Shiva. Rudraksha Mala has been used by Hindus, Sikhs and Buddhists as rosary for meditation purposes and to sanctify the mind, body and soul. The word Rudraksha is derived from “Rudra”, Shiva” the Hindu God of all living creatures and “aksha” (eyes). Hindu legend says that once Lord Shiva opened His eyes after a long period yoga, because of extreme fulfilment He shed out a tear. This single tear from Shiva’s eye grew into the Rudraksha tree and so there is seen to be a direct link to meditation, fulfilments and enlightenment and the Rudraksha Bead.  Commonly used to make pray rosary’s numbering of 108 beads.

The number 108

is considered special and sacred in Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism and other religions. The ancients were excellent mathematicians and 108 may be the product of a precise mathematical operation (e.g. 1 power 1 x 2 power 2 x 3 power 3 = 108) which was thought to have special numerological significance, in addition the three fold rule can be applied in any aspect to fit this; 

  • Three fold law of return
  • The Self, Subconscious Self, Higher Self. 
  • Mother, Maiden, Crone
  • Within, without, above. 
  • Three parts of the Tao, Yin, Yang and the yin that holds the balance of the main two.  
108 is also thought to be the number of intersections energy lines between the chakras converging to form the heart chakra. One of them, leads to the crown chakra and is the path to Self-Realisation.

In astrology the 108 there are 12 constellations and 9 arc segments called namshas or chandrakalas. 9 x 12 = 108. Also In there are 12 houses and 9 planets. 12 x 9 = 108.

The diameter of the sun is 108 times the diameter of the earth. In Chinese astrology, the Tao philosophy holds that there are 108 sacred stars. Kung fu – is based on the 108 techniques in classic form as is Tai Chi. In Islam, the number 108 is used to refer to God.